This 1920โs postcard shows an image of downtown Ocean City with on-street parking on both sides of street and two way traffic. ๏ฟผThe picture is taken looking north on Baltimore Avenue just south of Somerset Street.
Here is the same view, taken in 2025 of the same street section.
******
Cropperโs Fish Camp House is on S. Division St., just west of S. Baltimore Avenue. It was built around 1912, its design typical of those houses found in the commercial pound fishing camps of that era. It’s also known as the Violets are Blue house as it was used in the movie of the same name which was filmed in Ocean City in 1984. ๏ฟผ
******
In the early 1950s, the Harrison Hall Hotel on 14th Street would become the northernmost hotel on the Ocean City Boardwalk. Motel Row, between 15th Street and 33rd, was only just starting to emerge as a region in town where tourists could lodge. The luxurious new hotel would set the standard for those who followed, as the first hotel in Ocean City to include a private bathroom in each room. Now, after over 70 years, Harrison Hall still stands as elegant as ever on the Boardwalk at 14th Street, within walking distance of the beach, amusements, restaurants and shops.
******
The building that we all know of as the Kite Loft was constructed about 1930, and originally it was Eugeniaโs Guest House. It later became Mariaโs Guest House and is now the Kite Loft, the shop few can prevent themselves from stepping inside, as there is so much to see, and buy! The Kite Loft is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year!๏ฟผ
******
The Brous family acquired the Flamingo Motel in 1963, just a year after its construction. What started as a 23-unit motel on the outskirts of Ocean City has evolved into a thriving destination. Now featuring 112 units, ocean views, and both indoor and outdoor pools, the Flamingo now stands in the center of a thriving resort. Spend a week here this summer and it experience it first hand. Find out more here.
******
The Lankford Hotel was built in 1924, and has recently undergone some changes including a deck with restaurants looking out onto the Boardwalk. You can still stay at the Lankford or one of its apartments. Find out more here.
******
The Plimhimmon Hotel, between 1st and 2nd streets, was built in 1894. It was one of the first three hotels built in Ocean City, along with The Atlantic and The Seaside. During an expansion of the hotel in 1962, a fire broke out in the hotelโs north wing, and the blaze quickly spread to the rest of the building. Only parts of the south wing avoided any damage, and part of that wing remains standing today. The hotel was rebuilt, a fifth floor was added and even its famous cupola was replaced by the summer of 1963. Its name was changed to Plim Plaza to match the hotelโs new, modern look. Want to experience staying here? Take a look and make reservations for the Plim Plaza here.
May sure you like and follow our Facebook page to see more hidden gems in Ocean City Md, and next time you visit, get out and explore old Ocean City yourself!